Tags

, , , , , ,

Editors sometimes do very odd things.  Here is the text of a chapter commissioned for The Sage Companion to the City, published in 2008. Although a very good book in many ways, the editors saw fit (and without consulting me) to chop out various quotes I had used to support my argument.  I suppose they had a right to do this, though some very rapid rewriting was needed at proof stage to make the thing make sense.  Whoever had done the ‘editing’ had not adjusted the text around the missing quotes to deal with their absence.  They also changed the title of the piece, which probably annoyed me even more than ham-fisted editing because it was so pointless.

Anyway, simply because I prefer the original version, here it is complete with proper title and long tedious quotes:

State Cities

 

 

